Hi! My name is Sonali Patel, and I’m so excited to be a Baldwin Scholar!

I was born in West Virginia but grew up in Farmington, which is a small town in Connecticut. I am a mix of Italian on my mom’s side and Indian on my dad’s side. I’m a middle child, with an older sister and a younger brother. My family also has two dogs. Growing up in a suburban town has made me eager to explore, but has also made me appreciate community and sparked my interest in wanting to hear other people’s stories.

My family has always been surrounded by music, my siblings and I grew up taking piano lessons and playing string instruments throughout high school. I enjoyed playing the cello for my school’s orchestra, and also appreciate music attending many concerts and musicals, and obsessing over my Spotify playlists.

Besides listening to music, I like to ski, hike, eat acai bowls, and walk around filming things on my video camera. I’m super excited to explore Durham. I love trying new food and have already tried so many delicious places in the area. If anyone has any good recommendations, let me know!

I’m currently undecided in terms of a major and career path, and still in an exploration phase to decide what I’m truly passionate about.

I am so grateful to have been given the opportunity to be a Baldwin Scholar. As someone who enjoys being surrounded by goal-oriented and focused women, I know that I will be able to grow so much and learn from others as a Baldwin. I am most excited to develop strong relationships and be someone that others can turn to for comfort or advice. I’m excited to see what the next four years bring!